
Rule 13-4 – Ball in Hazard
(R & A Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2008 – 2009)

13-4/0.5 Meaning of “Test the Condition of the Hazard” in Rule 13-4a
Q – What is meant by “test the condition of the hazard” in Rule 13-4a?

A – The team covers all actions by which the player could gain more information about the 
hazard than could be gained from taking his1 stance for the stroke to be made, bearing in 
mind that a certain amount of digging in with the feet in the sand or soil is permitted when 
taking the stance for a stroke.

Examples2 of actions that would not constitute testing the condition of the hazard include 
the following:

 Placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard:
 Leaning on an object (other than a club) such as a rake while it is touching the ground 

in the hazard or water in a water hazard;

Examples3 of actions that would constitute testing the condition of the hazard in breach of 
Rule 13-4a includes the following:

 Intentionally sticking an object, such as a rake, into sand or soil in the hazard or water 
in a water hazard (but see Rule 12-1).

13-4/1 Touching Sand in Bunker When Ball Lies Outside Bunker:
Q – A ball lies just outside a bunker.  The player takes his stance in the bunker.  May the 
player ground his club on the sand in the bunker or touch the sand during his backswing?

A – Yes.  Since the ball was not in or touching the bunker, Rule 13-4 does not apply.  
However, the player may ground his club only lightly – see Rule 13-2.

13-4/2 Leaning on Club in Hazard While Waiting to Play:
Q – A, whose ball lies in a hazard, casually leans on his club in the hazard while waiting for 
B to play.  What is the ruling?

A – A was in breach of Rule 13-4b for touching the ground in the hazard with his club 
before making a stroke.  The exceptions to Rule 13-4 do not apply.

13-4/3.5 Player Uses Cane or Club to Enter or Leave Hazard When Ball Lies in Hazard:
Q – A player, to prevent falling, uses a cane or club to enter or leave a hazard when his ball 
lies in the hazard.  Is the player in breach of Rule 13-4?

A – No, provided nothing is done which constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or 
improves the lie of the ball – se Exception 1 to Rule 13-4.

                                                          
1 The R&A rules always refer to players as ‘his’, regardless if male or female.
2 Not all examples given in the examples above, read complete rule to gain all the knowledge.
3 Not all examples given in the examples above, read complete rule to gain all the knowledge.



13-4/21 Rake thrown into Bunker Before Stroke:
Q – A player’s ball lies in a bunker.  He casually throws a rake into the bunker for use after 
his stroke.  The rake does not move his ball or improve the lie of the ball.  Does the player 
incur a penalty?

A – No.  Placing a rake in a bunker is permissible.  In this case, throwing the rake into the 
bunker was the equivalent of placing it.

If the rake had moved the ball, the player would incur a penalty of one stroke for causing 
his ball to move; and the ball would have to be replaced – Rule 18-2a.


